Mississippi Peanut Growers Association holds annual meeting Feb. 12-13

MPGAlogo_rgbThe Mississippi Peanut Growers Association held its annual meeting Feb. 12-13, 2014, at the Lake Terrace Convention Center in Hattiesburg, Miss. During the meeting, Mississippi peanut growers had the opportunity to hear from peanut industry representatives and specialists, as well as visit with agricultural companies during an exhibit trade show.

During the early bird topics session on Feb. 12, Mississippi peanut growers heard presentations from Mississippi State University’s new peanut agronomist, Jason Sarver, and what his upcoming goals are for peanut research at MSU; Bronson Strickland, wildlife specialist from MSU, and his recommendations for wild hog management; and Alan Henn, extension plant pathologist with MSU, and his suggestions for a profitable disease control program.

Day two of the MPGA annual meeting began with a program consisting of updates from MSU and peanut industry groups, University of Georgia peanut research, outlooks on the 2014 peanut market, as well as a 2014 Farm Bill update. Presentations included the following speakers: Gregory Bohach, MSU; John Powell, The Peanut Institute; Glenn Harris, UGA; Scott Tubbs, UGA; Marshall Lamb, USDA ARS; Stanley Fletcher, UGA; Don Self, National Peanut Board.

The Mississippi Peanut Growers Association also recognized the high yield winners for 2013 and elected the 2014 board members during the annual meeting. For the yield contest, the 2013 state winner in the 100-400 acres division was Norton Farms, with a yield of 5,414 lbs/acre; the 2013 state winner in the 401-800 acres division was Red Oaks Farm, with a yield of 5,512 lbs/acre; the 2013 2nd place state winner in the 401-800 division was Kyles Farm Services, LLC, with a yield of 4,622 lbs/acre; the 2013 state winner in the 801 acres plus division was M&M Farms, with a yield of 5,444 lbs/acre; and the 2013 2nd place state winner in the 801 acres plus division was Seward Farms, with a yield of 5,237 lbs/acre.

The 2014 MPGA board members elected are Daniel Parrish, Lonnie Fortner, Don Self, Steve Seward, Joe Morgan, Corley Moses and Alan Atkins.

This entry was posted in General, Mississippi News. Bookmark the permalink.