National Peanut Board elects 2017 officers

2017 NPB Officers

National Peanut Board 2017 officers are (l-r) Greg Gill, Arkansas, vice-chairman; Ed White, Alabama, chairman; Peter Froese Jr., Texas, secretary; and Dan Ward, North Carolina, treasurer.

Ed White, a peanut farmer from Headland, Ala. was elected chairman of the 12-member National Peanut Board on Dec. 7 during the Board’s quarterly meeting in Washington, D.C. White, who is the Alabama member and recently served as the Board’s 2016 vice-chairman, will begin his one-year term Jan. 1.

“It’s quite an honor that my fellow board members had enough faith in me to elect me as chairman,” White says. “I look forward to playing a key role in advancing the board’s mission of   improving grower economics through funding compelling research and   increasing consumer consumption of peanuts.”

National Peanut Board also elected Greg Gill of Walnut Ridge, Arkansas, as vice-chairman; Dan Ward of Clarkton, North Carolina, as treasurer; and Peter Froese Jr. of Seminole, Texas, as secretary. These officers will serve one-year terms beginning Jan. 1.

USDA officially instated new and reappointed board members and alternates, who will begin three-year terms Jan. 1. Board members sworn in were Greg Gill, Arkansas, Jim Chandler, New Mexico and Les Crall, Oklahoma. Alternates sworn in were Greg Baltz, Arkansas, Karen Jackson, New Mexico and Gayle White, Oklahoma. Gayle White is NPB’s immediate past-chairman.

National Peanut Board would like to recognize outgoing board member Wayne Baker, New Mexico, and thank him for his years of service to the peanut industry.

For more information on the National Peanut Board, visit their website at

This entry was posted in Alabama News, Florida News, General, Georgia News, Mississippi News. Bookmark the permalink.