USDA-AMS rules Arkansas a primary peanut producing state

The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) ruled, effective March 24, 2014, to add the state of Arkansas as a primary peanut producing state under the Peanut Promotion, Research and Information Order (Order). The Order is administered by the National Peanut Board. This rule also adds a seat on the National Peanut Board for Arkansas. Under the Order, primary peanut producing states must maintain a three-year average production of at least 10,000 tons of peanuts. Primary peanut producing states also have a seat on the board.

Currently, the board is composed of 11 producer-members and alternates: one member and alternate from each primary producing state and one at-large member and alternate collectively from the minor peanut-producing states. This rule classifies the state of Arkansas as a primary peanut-producing state and specifies the board will be composed of 12 peanut producer-members and their alternates rather than 11. The members and alternates are nominated by state  producers or producer groups.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.